Chérimont - Activities - Clay Shooting - Disciplines Chérimont - Activities - Clay Shooting - Disciplines
Menu

Activities > Clay Shooting > Disciplines

At Chérimont Clay Shooting, you have the opportunity to try a variety of disciplines, both Olympic and non-Olympic.

But first, what is the Tir aux Clays?

Clayshooting (or ball-trap for our French neighbors), sometimes still called "clay pigeon shooting", is an outdoor activity that can be practiced at any age (from 16 years old, and from 14 years old for the Olympic disciplines) and which consists in shooting at moving targets (trays or clays) with a smooth-bore hunting weapon. It is a competitive or recreational sport, practiced mainly on permanent sites, but also on sites temporarily set up for this purpose.

The classic clay tray, black at the beginning, has become rather orange but there are brown, white, blue or green ones... It must have a diameter of 110 mm and weigh a maximum of 110 g. Special models also exist for the Hunting Course and the Compak Sporting called: mini, midi, battue, bourdon or rabbit.

Of the eight most important disciplines, three are Olympic: the Olympic Pit, the Olympic Skeet and the Double Trap. The other five are: the Universal Pit, the Hunting Course, the Compak Sporting, the Euro Pit (DTL) and the Propellers (ZZ).

For clays shooting, if visual acuity and physical condition are important, it is especially the mental strength which is determining. A single shot can make the difference between victory and defeat.

The Hunting Course

Hunting Course is a sport shooting discipline whose objective is to simulate shooting conditions similar to those found in small game hunting. This discipline uses all the possibilities of a field on which artificial targets of different types are thrown, in order to highlight the technical and sporting qualities of the participants.

More info

The routes of the courses reproduce hunting trajectories: the run of a rabbit, the flight of partridges or woodcocks, the landing of a duck, the flight of a pheasant, the passage of a woodpigeon, ... All angles and speeds are allowed, taking into account the safety of all.

The shooting stations are generally represented on the ground by a square (1 meter side), a circle (1 meter diameter). A shooting line consists of 4 or 5 stations for a total of 25 clays.

The launchers are identified by a letter (A, B, C, ...) or by a number (1, 2, 3, ...) from left to right. The weight of the cartridges and the diameter of the shot are limited. The shooter shoulders at the sight of the tray and cannot anticipate it. There are different types of trays, from the smallest to the largest: the drone, the mini, the standard, the rabbit and the battue.

Shooting distance : between 10 and 60m

Anecdote
George Digweed, multiple world champion, shot 130 yards (118 m) in 2011

The Compak Sporting

Compak Sporting is a "compacted" form of the Hunting Course. A group of maximum 6 shooters (5 active and 1 on standby), stand in a straight line, each on a square marked on the ground (1 meter side), raised by a safety device, and spaced 3 to 5 meters apart. In front of them is the "target area" which is a rectangle 40 meters wide by 25 meters deep and positioned 4 to 8 meters in front of the row of shooters.

More info

There must be a minimum of six throwers. The location of the throwers is free provided that the thrown targets do not present any danger to the shooters, the referees, the staff and the spectators, even in case of No Bird. All the targets must fly over the rectangle ABCD at some point in their trajectory (see plan below).

The program includes fifteen single and five doubled targets or, to increase the difficulty, five single and ten doubled targets (shot, simultaneous or burst) for a total of 25 clays. The trays used are normal trays but also battue, rabbit, mini, drone, flash and possibly electro-targets.

Shooting distance : between 8 and 35 m

The Skeet

The Skeet is an Olympic discipline that is practiced on a course with two launching huts 40 meters apart. One, high, called PULL, the other, low, called MARK. From these huts, trays are launched with defined and constant trajectories.

More info

Shooters move to seven equidistant shooting stations placed in an arc. The tray launch huts are located at each end of this arc. The first shooting station is located at the foot of the Pull hut and the seventh at the foot of the Mark hut. An eighth station is located in the center of the axis passing through the two huts.
The shooter is not allowed to shoulder before he/she sees the target(s). Participants shoot "singles" and "simultaneous doubles" in sets of 25 clays.

Shooting distance : between 8 and 35 m

Anecdote
During the Summer Olympics of 1992 in Barcelona, the Chinese Zhang Shan wins the title of the mixed event in front of seven men, by beating the world record of the event. From this date, the menu of the skeet is adapted (suppression of 4 simple trays and addition of 2 doubled) and the mixed events are replaced by separate events for the men and for the women.

La Fosse DTL (Down The Line)

The DTL consists of a launching machine placed in an elevated pit. The pit is built at a distance of 14.6 meters from the shooter.

Five firing points are distributed in a line at the back of the pit.

More info

The launcher must be able to launch simple trays, within the limits of angle, height and distance (speed). The launcher is equipped with a device making the trajectories random and totally unpredictable.

The sending of the tray(s) can be triggered either manually or by a voice triggering device.

Shooting distance : between 15 and 50 m

A =Firing point
B =Pit
C D E =Distance indicators
CB =45.7 to 50.3 m (50 to 55 Yards)
DBD =Preferable angle of trajectories
EBITDA =Maximum limit of trajectories

The Propellers (ZZ)

Considered by some as the noblest discipline of clays shooting, it consists in shooting at propellers whose random flight approaches the flight of a pigeon. It is therefore much more difficult for the shooter to anticipate the trajectory of the propeller.

More info

The propeller consists of a white disc, the "witness", mounted on a support equipped with two blades (generally orange). It is sent by a launcher which exerts beforehand a rotation on the disc by making it turn on itself (5.000 turns/min).

This discipline requires shooters to be very quick because, due to its unpredictable trajectory, the propeller must be hit as quickly as possible. The longer the shooter waits, the lower the chances of hitting the baton.

The shooting range representing a square of one meter by one meter is placed at a distance varying from 24 to 30 meters from the throwing devices. The witness placed on the propeller must fall in a circle of 21 meters in diameter having for center its launcher.

Shooting distance : between 24 and 51 m

Special feature The propeller is the only target that accelerates after leaving its launcher

Legend : 1 = Barrier h = 60 to 80 cm / 2 = Firing direction limit - Red flag / 3 = Firing point / 4 = Propellers 1 to 5
There's always something going on in Cherimont

Stay up to date with our activities, news, events and all those things that will make your life more exciting and bring you a good dose of unforgettable memories!

Subscribe to our newsletter here
crosschevron-down

Chérimont – Activités - Clay Shooting - Disciplines Chérimont – Activités - Clay Shooting - Disciplines
Menu

Activités > Clay Shooting > Disciplines

Au Chérimont Clay Shooting, vous avez l’occasion de vous adonner à une multitude de disciplines, qu’elles soient olympiques ou non.

Mais d’abord, qu’est-ce que le Tir aux Clays ?

Le Tir aux Clays (ou ball-trap pour nos voisins français), parfois encore appelé “tir aux pigeons d’argile”, est une activité de plein air qui se pratique à tout âge (à partir de 16 ans, et à partir de 14 ans pour les disciplines olympiques) et qui consiste à tirer sur des cibles mouvantes (plateaux ou clays) à l’aide d’une arme de chasse à canons lisses. Sport de compétition ou de loisir, il se pratique principalement sur des sites permanents, mais également sur des sites aménagés temporairement à cet effet.

Le plateau d’argile classique, de noir au départ, est devenu plutôt orange mais il en existe des bruns, des blancs, des bleus ou des verts... Il doit avoir une dimension de 110 mm de diamètre et peser un maximum de 110 g. Des modèles spéciaux existent également pour le Parcours de Chasse et le Compak Sporting appelés : mini, midi, battue, bourdon ou rabbit.

Des huit disciplines les plus importantes, trois sont olympiques : la Fosse Olympique, le Skeet Olympique et le Double Trap. Les cinq autres sont : la Fosse Universelle, le Parcours de Chasse, le Compak Sporting, la Fosse Euro (DTL) et les Hélices (ZZ).

Pour le tir aux clays, si l’acuité visuelle et la condition physique sont importantes, c’est surtout la force mentale qui est déterminante. Un seul tir peut faire la différence entre la victoire et la défaite.

Le Parcours de Chasse

Le Parcours de Chasse est une discipline de tir sportif ayant pour objectif de simuler des conditions de tirs semblables à celles que l’on trouve à la chasse au petit gibier. Cette discipline utilise toutes les possibilités d’un terrain sur lequel sont lancées des cibles artificielles de différents types, ceci afin de mettre en valeur les qualités techniques et sportives des pratiquants.

Plus d'infos

Les tracés des parcours reproduisent des trajectoires de chasse : la course d’un lapin, l’envol de perdreaux ou de bécasses, la pose d’un canard, le survol d’un faisan, le passage d’un ramier, ... Tous les angles et vitesses sont autorisés en tenant compte de la sécurité de tous.

Les postes de tirs sont généralement représentés au sol par un carré (de 1 mètre de côté), un cercle (de 1 mètre de diamètre). Une ligne de tir est constituée de 4 ou 5 postes pour un total imposé de 25 clays.

Les lanceurs sont identifiés par une lettre (A, B, C, …) ou par un chiffre (1, 2, 3, ...) en partant de la gauche vers la droite. Le grammage des cartouches et le diamètre des grenailles sont limités. Le tireur épaule à la vue du plateau et ne peut l’anticiper. Il existe différents types de plateaux à savoir, du plus petit au plus grand : le bourdon, le mini, le standard, le rabbit et le battue.

Distance de tir : entre 10 et 60m

Anecdote
Georges Digweed, multiple champion du monde, a réalisé un tir à 130 yards (118 m) en 2011

Le Compak Sporting

Le Compak Sporting est une forme « compactée » du Parcours de Chasse. Un groupe de maximum 6 tireurs (5 actifs et 1 en attente), se tient en ligne droite, chacun sur un carré marqué au sol (1 mètre de côté), rehaussé d'un dispositif de securité, et espacé de 3 à 5 mètres l’un de l’autre. Devant eux se trouve la "zone cible" qui est un rectangle de 40 mètres de large sur 25 mètres de profondeur et positionné de 4 à 8 mètres devant la rangée de tireurs.

Plus d'infos

Il doit y avoir un minimum de six lanceurs. L’emplacement des lanceurs est libre à condition que les plateaux lancés ne présentent aucun danger pour les tireurs, les arbitres, le personnel et les spectateurs, même en cas de No Bird. Tous les plateaux doivent obligatoirement, à un moment de leur trajectoire, survoler le rectangle ABCD (voir plan ci-après).

Au programme, quinze plateaux simples et cinq doublés ou, pour accroître la difficulté, cinq plateaux simples et dix doublés (coup de fusil, simultané ou rafale) pour un total de 25 clays. Les plateaux utilisés sont des plateaux normaux mais également des battue, rabbit, mini, bourdon, flash et éventuellement des électro-cibles.

Distance de tir : entre 8 et 35 m

Le Skeet

Le Skeet est une discipline olympique qui se pratique sur un parcours comportant deux cabanes de lancement distantes de 40 mètres. L’une, haute, appelée PULL, l’autre, basse, appelée MARK. De ces cabanes partent des plateaux dont les trajectoires sont définies et constantes.

Plus d'infos

Les tireurs se déplacent sur sept postes de tir équidistants placés sur un arc de cercle. Les cabanes de lancement des plateaux se trouvent à chaque extrémité de cet arc. Le premier poste de tir est situé au pied de la cabane Pull et le septième au pied la cabane Mark. Un huitième poste est situé au centre de l'axe passant par les deux cabanes.
Il est interdit au tireur d'épauler avant qu'il ne voie le ou les plateaux. Les participants tirent des « simples » et des « doublés simultanés » par séries de 25 clays.

Distance de tir : entre 8 et 35 m

Anecdote
Lors des Jeux olympiques d'été de 1992 à Barcelone, la chinoise Zhang Shan remporte le titre de l'épreuve mixte devant sept hommes, en battant le record du monde de l'épreuve. A partir de cette date, le menu du skeet est adapté (suppression de 4 plateaux simples et ajout de 2 doublés) et les épreuves mixtes sont remplacées par des épreuves séparées pour les hommes et pour les femmes.

La Fosse DTL (Down The Line)

Le DTL consiste en une machine de lancement placée dans une fosse surélevée. La fosse est construite à une distance de 14,6 mètres du tireur.

Cinq pas de tir sont répartis sur une ligne à l’arrière de la fosse.

Plus d'infos

Le lanceur doit être capable de lancer des plateaux simples, dans les limites angulaires, de hauteurs et de distances (vitesse). Le lanceur est équipé d’un dispositif rendant les trajectoires aléatoires et totalement imprévisibles.

L’envoi du ou des plateaux peut être déclenché soit manuellement ou par un dispositif de déclenchement à la voix.

Distance de tir : entre 15 et 50 m

A =Pas de tir
B =Fosse
C D E =Indicateurs de distance
CB =45,7 à 50,3 m (50 à 55 Yards)
DBD =Angle préférable des trajectoires
EBE =Limite maximum des trajectoires

Les Hélices (ZZ)

Considérée par certains comme la discipline la plus noble du tir aux clays, elle consiste à tirer sur des hélices dont le vol aléatoire s’approche du vol d’un pigeon. Il est donc nettement plus difficile pour le tireur d'anticiper la trajectoire de l'hélice.

Plus d'infos

L'hélice est constituée d’un disque blanc, le "témoin", monté sur un support équipé de deux pales (généralement oranges). Elle est envoyée par un lanceur qui exerce au préalable une rotation sur le disque en le faisant tourner sur lui-même (5.000 tour/min).

Cette discipline demande aux tireurs d'être très vifs car, en raison de sa trajectoire imprévisible, l’hélice doit être touchée le plus rapidement possible. Plus le tireur attend et plus les chances d'atteindre le témoin s'amenuisent.

Le pas de tir représentant un carré d'un mètre sur un mètre est placé à une distance variant de 24 à 30 mètres des appareils de lancer. Le témoin placé sur l'hélice doit retomber dans un cercle de 21 mètres de diamètre ayant pour centre son lanceur.

Distance de tir : entre 24 et 51 m

Particularité : L’hélice est la seule cible qui accélère après avoir quitté son lanceur

Légende : 1 = Barrière h = 60 à 80 cm / 2 = Limite de direction du tir – Drapeau rouge / 3 = Pas de Tir / 4 =Lanceurs des hélices 1 à 5
Il se passe toujours quelque chose à chérimont

Restez au courant de nos activités, nouveautés, événements et toute ces choses qui vous rendront la vie plus palpitante et vous apporteront une bonne dose de souvenirs inoubliables!

Inscrivez-vous ici à notre newsletter
crosschevron-down